A Young Mom’s Weekend

If you’re not careful when walking through my living room, you may trip over a baby seat, or the small, plastic purple chairs crowding up the center of the floor.

Also, clothes in the dryer need to be folded and a dishwasher needs unloading.

As a twenty-four-year-old mom with two little girls, I’m always on my feet. Most of my time is spent running behind my seven-month-old, who just started crawling and my mischievous five-year-old, who tends to play with things other than her toys. Some days are so stressful that I want to pull my hair out. Most of the time my children pull it out for me. Fortunately, I have a lot of help, and I love taking care of my family.

Every mom has their own routine. My own daily routine always fluctuates due to my children being unpredictable.

Photo by Jake Givens on Unsplash

Mornings

Normally, I wake up to a crying baby at six. I change her diaper, feed her a bottle and sometimes, if I’m lucky, she’ll go back to sleep in about an hour.

If it’s the weekend, I get to sleep in, a real treat since this is the only time I actually get decent sleep. During the week, I must walk my five-year-old to the bus stop.

Sometimes, I make time to watch my favorite TV shows, such as America’s Got Talent and The Empire.

I spend the rest of my morning cleaning the kitchen, folding laundry, picking up toys, and sweeping floors.

Photo by Joseph Gonzalez on Unsplash

Breakfast

It’s breakfast time!

Usually, I cook scrambled eggs and toast for me and my five-year-old. I’ll make my husband breakfast, if he hasn’t left for work. I’ll feed the baby Gerber Rice cereal mix with formula and a little fruit. It takes about forty-five minutes to an hour to finish breakfast. We would finish faster if my seven-month old didn’t constantly get food all over her highchair and face.

After we’re finished eating, my five year old sometimes will help with dishes by bringing dirty plates or cups to me.

Afternoons

Throughout the day, I’m constantly changing diapers, fixing bottles, and catering to the needs of my five-year-old.

Her favorite snacks are strawberries and bananas, which is great because they’re easy to prepare and healthy.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Evenings

Currently, I try to take my children outside around five, because I live in Georgia and it’s too hot to take them out in the afternoons.

When I go outside, my baby will either sit in my lap, or her stroller, while my other daughter rides her bike, blows bubbles, and runs around the house giggling.

If it rains, I have several indoor activities we can do together, such as playing board games, dancing, making crafts, and singing.

My baby is usually satisfied with teething on her teething ring, while me and my five-year-old play.

Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

Dinner

Dinner time is more relaxed. My husband has come home from work and helps me with the children. Also, the baby is asleep.

I spend the time before dinner sweeping, vacuuming, washing dishes and clothes.

Usually, I prepare dinner around six and serve it at eight.

Photo by Picsea on Unsplash

Bedtime

After I have gotten my daughter ready for bed,

I do word and number flash cards with her. Then, I let her pick a book to read. Her two favorite books are Chicka Chicka Boom Boom and Goldilocks and the Three Bears.

While everyone is asleep, I try to get important things done such as making a shopping list, paying bills, checking for important dates or events.

What’s you routine?

That’s my daily routine in a nutshell. Let me know what your daily routine is in the comment section below.